Golden Moment

by Miche (Meagan Michelle) Lee

Originally published as “I long for a Pause in Eternity” in Fall of 2006 on Paradigm High School’s website as an ‘exemplary answer.’  High school was so long ago, I don’t remember what the question/prompt was.

If I could stop the world and lay still in a single moment of time, maybe everything would fall into place.  Yes. For me, the world would stop, the people and animals and machines would stop fighting and grinding in their effort to survive, the only things permitted to busy themselves will be the bees; droning from one flower to another in their leisurely way.

My moment of pause will be warm and peaceful.  A place outside in a sunshiny meadow that smells sweet, like cornbread and hay.  In that single moment, everything shall be a sudden golden serenity, everything will make sense, and I would not be surprised that it makes sense, I will come to discover that what I have already learned is merely confirmed by my new knowledge.  Then, in due process, move along with the rest of my thoughts– after all, I have all the time in the world, I can think everything out, with spare time to pray, hope, and resolve.  Then, when I am ready, I will walk back through the veil that separates stillness from movement, the ‘play’ button, and again enter into time, right where I left off.

After finding so great a joy, it is not conceivable that we could be separated.  The tranquility and confidence shall remain in me.  To guide me, protect me, make me remember who I am, and how I behave.

And from my moment of eternity onward, I will go on with my life; nothing can confuse me or bother me or hurt me.  I am peace, I am composure, I can truly be the statute of elegance and joy and pure contentment.

Because I will have found my direction.  I will have my purpose. I will know what I need to do to achieve and excel.  I will be strong. I will do.

About Meagan Michelle

Divorced, three-time maid-of-honor, cat-lady, dog-lady, beta-fish lady, reader, writer, drawer, internet-surfer, traveller, twenty-something (okay, okay, 26.), human.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

